Congratulations to the 2021 AAHM Award Winners!

Congratulations to the 2021 AAHM award winners honored on May 14, 2021 during the 94th annual meeting of the Association held virtually.

William Osler Medal Honorable Mention: Aneek Patel of New York University Grossman School of Medicine, for his essay, “Roots of Resistance: The Slave Midwife as an Agent of Slave Resistance in the Antebellum South.”

William Osler Medal: Margo A. Payton of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, for her essay, “Segregated in Life and Death: Johns Hopkins and the Racial Science of Tuberculosis.”

Richard H. Shryock Medal: Gina Surita of Princeton University Department of History, for her essay, “Gendered Hormonal Binaries and the Development of the Concept of Hormone-Dependent Cancers, 1940-1990.”

Fielding H. Garrison Lecturer for 2022: Janet L. Golden, Professor Emerita Rutgers University

J. Worth Estes Prize: Beatriz Puentes-Ballesteros, “Chocolate in China: Interweaving cultural histories of an imperfectly connected world,” in Harold Cook (ed.), Translation at Word: Chinese Medicine in the First Global Age (Boston: Brill Rodopi, 2020)

Jack D. Pressman-Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Development Award in 20th Century History of Medicine or Biomedical Sciences Award: Dr. Heidi Morefield, Postdoctoral Research Associate, Princeton University to support her Book Project, “Developing to Scale: Technology and the Making of Global Health.”

George Rosen Prize: Michael Rembis, Catherine Kudlick, and Kim E. Nielsen for their book, The Oxford Handbook of Disability History published by Oxford University Press, 2018.

William H. Welch Medal:  Benjamin Breen for his book, IThe Age of Intoxication: Origins of the Global Drug Trade published by the University of Pennsylvania Press, 2019.

Genevieve Miller Lifetime Achievement Award: Susan M. Reverby

Congratulations to all our winners.

Posted in AAHM News.