AAHM News: Dan David 2021 Laureates

Congratulations to AAHM President Keith Wailoo and historians of medicine and sciences Katharine Park and Alison Bashford for being named 2021 Dan David Prize Laureates!

From the Press Release: Tel Aviv – The Dan David Prize announced on Monday (Feb. 15, 2021) that medical historians Alison Bashford, Katharine Park, and Keith Wailoo are among the recipients of the distinguished 2021 award, reflecting the worldwide desire to understand and combat the COVID-19 pandemic and improve global health.

The three accomplished historians share a prize of $1 million for their work in the field of History of Health and Medicine (Past category). They join the Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Dr. Anthony Fauci, who won the prize in the field of Public Health (Present category), and anti-cancer immunotherapy pioneers Prof. Zelig EshharProf. Carl June, and Dr. Steven Rosenberg, who won in the field of Molecular Medicine (Future category).

In choosing the field of History of Health and Medicine for the prizethe Dan David Board commented that “the nominations for the 2021 Dan David Prize embody the most significant developments and shifts in our field over the past few decades: the use of gender as an analytic tool; consideration of race and ethnicity; and the expansion of the field geographically and chronologically. Influential work in our field is now as likely to be centered in the Global South, or in the Middle Ages, as in nineteenth-century Paris or twentieth-century Baltimore.”

The internationally renowned prize, headquartered at Tel Aviv University, annually honors outstanding contributions of globally inspiring individuals and organizations that expand knowledge of the past, enrich society in the present, and promise to improve the future of our world. The Prize awards three gifts of $1 million, shared among the winners of each category. The total purse of $3 million makes the Dan David Prize one of the highest-valued awards internationally.

The seven laureates will be honored at the 2021 Dan David Prize Award Ceremony, to be held in an  special online event in May 2021.

Posted in AAHM News.