Prizes: MLA Meyerhoff Prize

The Erich Meyerhoff (formerly Murray Gottlieb) Prize is awarded annually by the Medical Library Association for the best unpublished scholarly paper about a topic in the history of the health sciences. The purpose of the prize is to recognize and stimulate interest in the history of the health sciences.  The author of the winning essay receives complimentary registration to the annual meeting, a certificate at the association’s annual meeting, and a cash award of $500, funded by the History of the Health Sciences Section, after the meeting.

This prize was established in 1956 by Ralph and Jo Grimes of the Old Hickory Bookshop, Brinklow, MD, in memory of Murray Gottlieb, a New York antiquarian book dealer.  Since 2010, this award has been sponsored by the MLA History of the Health Sciences Section.  In 2016 it was renamed to honor longtime MLA member Erich Meyerhoff, AHIP, FMLA.  Meyerhoff was a legendary figure in medical librarianship with a great devotion to the history of the health sciences.

Deadline for submissions is November 1, 2018 and at least one author must be a member of the Medical Library Association. Please visit for submission details. If you have any questions, please contact Stephen Greenberg, Jury Chair.

Prizes: DHST Prize for Young Scholars

SCHEME (25 September 2018)
The International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology, Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPST/DHST), invites submissions for the fifth DHST Prize for Young Scholars, to be awarded in 2019 and presented in 2021. Initiated at the 22nd International Congress of History of Science in 2005 held in Beijing, the DHST Young Scholar Prize is now awarded by the IUHPST/DHST every two years. Up to three awards for recent Ph.D. historians of science and technology will be awarded to recognize outstanding doctoral dissertations completed and filed between 1 September 2016 and 1 September 2018.

The 2019 DHST Prize does not specify distinct categories, but submissions must be on the history of science or technology in any part of the world. The Award Committee endeavors to maintain the broadest coverage of subjects, geographical areas, chronology and civilizations (African, American, Asian, Islamic, Western and Ancient Civilizations, and others not included in this list).
Each Prize consists of a certificate, assistance with travel and accommodation expenditures to the IUHPST/DHST Congress in Prague in July 2021 and a waiver of registration fees. The winner of a prize whose dissertation engages substantially Islamic science and culture (over competitions five (2016-2018) and six (2018-2020), is also awarded the Ihsanoglu Prize funded by the Istanbul Foundation for Research and Education (ISAR).

The Committee is comprised of the DHST Council members and distinguished subject specialists.

Submission: Applications open 1 October 2018 and close 30 November 2018 (22:00, GMT)
Award Committee meetings: January and February 2019
Announcement of prize winners for fifth competition, March 2019
Award ceremony for winners of competitions 5 and 6: July 2021 in Prague.

Language: Submission in all languages is welcome. All dissertations must be accompanied by a detailed summary in English of no more than 20 pages.
Application procedure: Applicants must submit online at:, where they can also find additional procedural and application requirements.
Questions may be addressed to Michael A. Osborne, President, DHST (

Prizes: Spurgeon H. Neel Annual Award

The Army Medical Department Museum Foundation is pleased to sponsor the 2018 Spurgeon Neel Annual Award competition for the article of 5000 words or less that best exemplifies the history, legacy, and traditions of the Army Medical Department.

Named in honor of Major General (Retired) Spurgeon H. Neel, first Commanding General of Health Services Command (now U.S. Army Medical Command), the award competition is open to all federal employees, military and civilian, as well as non-governmental civilian authors who submit manuscripts for publishing consideration.

The AMEDD Museum Foundation will present a special medallion award and a $1000 monetary prize to the winner, who will be notified in advance, at a Foundation-sponsored event early in 2019.

All manuscripts must be submitted to the AMEDD Museum Foundation, , by 30 November 2018. At the time of submission, a manuscript must be original work and not pending publication in any other periodical. It must conform to the Writing and Submission Guidance of the AMEDD Journal, and must relate to the history, legacy and/or traditions of the Army Medical Department. Manuscripts will be reviewed and evaluated by a six-member committee appointed by the President of the AMEDD Museum Foundation. The winning manuscript will be selected in December 2018.

Additional detail concerning the Spurgeon Neel Annual Award may be obtained by contacting Mrs. Sue McMasters at the AMEDD Museum Foundation, 210-226-0265.