Genevieve Miller Lifetime Achievement Award


Genevieve Miller

The American Association for the History of Medicine established the lifetime achievement award in 1988; the first recipients were Saul Jarcho, Lester King, and Owsei Temkin. The award was named for Genevieve Miller in 2014 to honor of her contributions to the history of medicine and the Association. The award is given annually to a member of the Association who has retired from regular institutional affiliation or practice, with a distinguished record of support for the history of medicine over many years, and who has made continuing scholarly contributions of a distinguished nature. Bill Summers, chair of the Genevieve Miller Lifetime Achievement Award Committee, welcomes nominations for the award, at the following e-mail address: Nominations for this award should include at least one letter of nomination outlining the nominee’s continuing contributions to the field and a curriculum vitae or other biographical information.

Deadline for nominations: 31 October 2016. Electronic submissions are preferred.

Miller Lifetime Achievement Award Committee, 2016-17

Bill Summers, Chair
Ken Ludmerer
Elizabeth Watkins

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

  • 2017: Daniel Fox
  • 2016: John Eyler
  • 2015: Caroline Hannaway
  • 2014: John Burnham
  • 2013: John Parascandola
  • 2012: Robert J. T. Joy
  • 2011: Judith W. Leavitt
  • 2010: Charles A. Rosenberg
  • 2009: Ynez O’Neill
  • 2008: Dora B. Weiner
  • 2007: Victoria Harden
  • 2006: Gerald N. Grob
  • 2005: Guenter Risse
  • 2004: Thomas N. Bonner & Frederick L. Holmes
  • 2003: William H. Helfand
  • 2002: Rosemary Stevens
  • 2001: John B. Blake
  • 2000: James Cassedy
  • 1999: Genevieve Miller
  • 1998: Jeanne Brand
  • 1997: Barbara Gutman Rosenkrantz
  • 1996: Whitfield J. Bell, Jr.
  • 1994: David L. Cowen
  • 1993: Saul Benison
  • 1992: James Harvey Young
  • 1991: John Duffy
  • 1988: Saul Jarcho & Lester S. King